RSS Feed

Slow Cooker: Chicken Vindaloo

Crock pot meals are the best for busy week nights, not only could you set something up before work and come home to a ready made meal, but if the dish is right you could even get it all started and not have to stress – enjoy those afternoon hours with your kids or your spouse .. or your pets… or by yourself! 😉

Yesterday’s recipe was designed to be tasty and easy. I had my first day of work (out of my house!) in 4 years – but I don’t want to sacrifice the dishes I feed my family. Mondays are pretty busy for us in the evenings too, now that big B has soccer practice. This dish came together in about 10 minutes, and was ready in 3.5 hours – perfect! Very fragrant and super flavorful, the chicken was amazingly tender and the spices were just right. Its also a fantastic recipe from my new slow cooker cookbook “Slow Cooker Revolution” (available here) – I am just unbelievably in.love with this cookbook!

Chicken Vindaloo

1 Onion, minced

3 tablespoons sweet paprika

3 cloves of garlic, minced

2 tablespoons of tomato paste

4 teaspoons of ground cumin

1/2 teaspoons of ground cardamom

1/4 teaspoons of cayenne pepper

1 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes

1 cup chicken broth

3 tablespoons of Minute tapioca

2 tablespoons red wine vinegar

2-3 lbs of chicken breast

2 bay leaves

salt and pepper to taste

Step 1.

Microwave the onions, paprika, garlic, tomato paste, cumin, cardamom and cayenne pepper in a bowl, stirring occasionally until the onions begin to soften, about 5 minutes or so… then add them to the slow cooker.

Step 2.

Add in the can of tomatoes, with the juices, chicken broth, tapioca, bay leaves and vinegar. Season chicken with some salt and pepper. Mix well!

Step 3.

Nestle the chicken in the sauce and cook on high for 4-5 hours or on low for 7-8.  My slow cooker runs hot, and my chickens were done in about 3.5 hours on high.

Step 4.

Let the stew settle for a few minutes and then remove any surface fat with a large spoon. Pull out and discard the bay leaves. If the stew is too thick, add in a little hot chicken broth. Season with salt and pepper to taste and serve!

Yum! And if you have left overs, they are great for lunch – just add in a little instant rice with the broth – it will cook up in the microwave!

About trufflesandtranquility

I am many things to the people in my life. Mother, wife, chef, sister, nanny, daughter, counselor, friend... But what I love being the most is myself. I'm in love with Yoga,food, photography, crafts and video games. This is an opportunity for me to share my passions, triumphs and failures. It matters not where the destination is, I just want to enjoy every moment of the journey!

One response »

  1. That looks amazing. I never really have done crockpot stuff, but I’m sure I’ll get there soon!

    Scott

    Reply

Leave a comment